WashU Tennis Teams Earn ITA Academic Awards

WashU Tennis Teams Earn ITA Academic Awards


St. Louis, Mo., July 24, 2019 – The Washington University in St. Louis men's and women's tennis teams each received 2019 Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) All-Academic accolades, as announced by the organization. 

In addition, the two programs had a combined 22 student-athletes (14 women, eight men) receive ITA Scholar-Athlete recognition.

WashU was one of three University Athletic Association (UAA) institutions to have both its men's and women's teams represented joining Carnegie Mellon University and Case Western Reserve University.

The women's team posted a cumulative GPA of 3.751 and individually was represented by Lisa ChionisCarina GreenbergGrace HederickBrigitte HodgeHannah JohnstonLibby JubasAshley LessenZoe Park,Ally PerskyStephanie RenEmma Sass, Divya SharmaSanjna Tripathy and Laurel Wanger. The 14 honorees were the most in the UAA and second highest in NCAA Division III.

Head coach Kelly Stahlhuth guided the WashU women to a 12-12 overall record, and the Bears were ranked No. 20 in the final ITA rankings.

The men's team had a cumulative GPA of 3.569 and had eight selections: Sam KomisKonrad Kozlowski, J.J. Kroot, Bernardo Neves, Luke Smith, Koki Takabatake, Benjamin van der Sman and Mark Wu. The eight honorees were the second most in the UAA.

Head coach Roger Follmer led the WashU men to a 19-8 overall record and finished the season ranked No. 9 in the ITA rankings. The Bears advanced to the NCAA Quarterfinals for the 13th-straight season.

The ITA All-Academic Team award is open to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.00 scale). All varsity letter winners were factored into the cumulative team GPA for the current academic year (including fall 2018 and spring 2019). 

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must meet the following criteria: be a varsity letter winner, have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year and have been enrolled at their present school for at least two semesters (including freshman through senior year).